Skip to content
Flintshire Counts — Flintshire, in numbers.Local help →

Flintshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Flintshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Flintshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 142,036 in 1991 to 155,954 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Flintshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 144,106 people in 1996; 155,954 people in 2025. 8.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Flintshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991142,036
1992143,493
1993144,049
1994144,539
1995144,844
1996144,106
1997144,643
1998146,261
1999146,824
2000147,930
2001148,629
2002148,947
2003149,176
2004149,681
2005149,890
2006150,125
2007150,816
2008151,501
2009151,985
2010152,080
2011152,666
2012152,660
2013152,906
2014153,439
2015153,688
2016154,166
2017154,587
2018154,587
2019154,592
2020155,004
2021155,045
2022155,421
2023155,668
2024155,898
2025155,954
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Flintshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 30,260 people in 1996; 26,372 people in 2025. 12.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Flintshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,742
199230,134
199330,343
199430,527
199530,535
199630,260
199730,319
199830,442
199930,684
200030,732
200130,494
200230,363
200330,151
200429,870
200529,617
200629,206
200728,959
200828,733
200928,669
201028,610
201128,584
201228,405
201328,217
201428,120
201527,984
201627,959
201727,968
201827,895
201927,903
202027,640
202127,323
202227,278
202327,054
202426,724
202526,372
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Flintshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 92,459 people in 1996; 94,530 people in 2025. 2.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Flintshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,735
199292,511
199392,623
199492,812
199592,960
199692,459
199792,850
199894,090
199994,365
200095,268
200195,932
200296,023
200396,056
200496,450
200596,536
200696,829
200797,358
200897,672
200997,464
201097,004
201196,973
201295,881
201395,398
201495,047
201594,792
201694,601
201794,622
201894,289
201993,922
202094,306
202194,352
202294,363
202394,562
202494,606
202594,530
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Flintshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,387 people in 1996; 35,052 people in 2025. 63.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Flintshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,559
199220,848
199321,083
199421,200
199521,349
199621,387
199721,474
199821,729
199921,775
200021,930
200122,203
200222,561
200322,969
200423,361
200523,737
200624,090
200724,499
200825,096
200925,852
201026,466
201127,109
201228,374
201329,291
201430,272
201530,912
201631,606
201731,997
201832,403
201932,767
202033,058
202133,370
202233,780
202334,052
202434,568
202535,052
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 154,960 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Flintshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,4550.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2920.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4460.9%
White151,23297.6%
Other ethnic group5350.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 152,506 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Flintshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White150,16198.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8510.6%
Asian/Asian British1,2010.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1420.1%
Other ethnic group1510.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 148,594 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Flintshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White147,40099.2%
Mixed5260.4%
Asian/Asian British2710.2%
Black/Black British970.1%
Chinese/Other3000.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Flintshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,650 per person in 1997; £23,426 per person in 2024. 142.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Flintshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,650
19989,639
199910,076
200010,866
200111,187
200211,452
200311,860
200412,367
200512,605
200612,895
200713,168
200813,654
200913,709
201014,072
201114,551
201215,043
201315,457
201416,071
201516,721
201616,942
201717,475
201818,166
201918,816
202018,868
202119,181
202220,515
202321,895
202423,426
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Flintshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -9% in 1997; -9.8% in 2024. 0.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Flintshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-9
1998-11
1999-10.9
2000-8.7
2001-9.6
2002-9.5
2003-9
2004-8.9
2005-10.3
2006-11.9
2007-14.2
2008-13.3
2009-14.4
2010-12.9
2011-10.7
2012-10.9
2013-11.8
2014-11.1
2015-12.1
2016-12
2017-11.3
2018-11
2019-10.7
2020-10.1
2021-12.2
2022-10.7
2023-10.5
2024-9.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.9%

21 March 2021 · Flintshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.5%

21 March 2021 · Flintshire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.3%

21 March 2021 · Flintshire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · Flintshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£216,000

July 2026 · Flintshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£811

August 2026 · Flintshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.